Faculty Awards and Honors

School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering

  • Casey Ankeny, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • David FrakesArizona Innovation Challenge award from the Arizona Commerce Authority for EndoVantage
  • Vikram Kodibagkar, National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Award (CAREER Award)

School of Computing and Augmented Intelligence

Selected Best Paper Awards

  • Gail-Joon Ahn, Best Paper Award at the Fourth ACM Conference on Data and Application Security and Privacy (CODASPY 2014) in San Antonio, TX for “RiskMon: Continuous and Automated Risk Assessment and Mobile Applications”
  • IIE Transactions on Quality and Reliability Engineering Best Paper Award to Shuai Huang, Jing Li, Kewei Chen, Teresa Wu, Jieping Ye, Xia Wu and Li Yao for “A Transfer Learning Approach for Network Modeling”
  • Yafeng Lu and Feng Wang (Ross Maciejewski, Advisor) received the Visual Analytics Science and Technology Challenge award for their work entitled “Excellent Visual Analysis of Structured and Unstructured Data”
  • Lydia Manikonda, Tathagata Chakraborty, S. De, K. Talamadupula and Subbarao Kambhampati received the Systems Demonstration People’s Choice Award for “AI Mix: How a Planner can Help Guide Humans Towards a Better Crowdsourced Plan” at the Int’l. Conference on Planning and Scheduling (ICAPS 2014)
  • Jieping YeBest Paper, KDD (Knowledge, Discovery & Data Mining) Conference 2013, “Querying Discriminative and Representative Samples for Batch Mode Active Learning”

School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

School for Engineering of Matter Transport and Energy

  • James Adams, Fulton Engineering 2014 Teaching Excellence Award
  • Panos Artemiadis, AFOSR Young Investigator Award
  • Candace Chan, Faculty Achievement Awards, award for Best Innovation
  • Aditi Chattopadhyay, Regents Professor (2014); Distinguished Alumnus Award, Indian Institute of Technology
  • Werner Dahm, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Marcus Herrmann, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Hanqing Jiang, Faculty Achievement Awards, award for Best Innovation
  • Stephen Krause, 2014 William Elgin Wickenden Award of the American Society for Engineering Education
  • Nathan Newman, IEEE Fellow
  • Pedro Peralta, Neutron Award, Thermal Mention, from the Advanced Test Reactor National User Science Facility, Nuclear Energy University Program for the poster presentation “Microstructural Effects on Thermal Conductivity of  Uranium Oxide: A 3-D Multiphysics Simulation.” By H. Lim†, K. Rudman†; R. McDonald†, K. Krishnan†; P. Peralta, P. Dickerson, D. Byler, C. Stanek; K. McClellan. Summer 2013, Idaho Falls, ID
  • Kaushal Rege, ASP New Investigator Awards
  • Kiran Solanki, Air Force Young Investigator Research Program; Orr Early Career Award, Materials Division of the American Society for Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • Robert Wang, Air Force Young Investigator Research Program

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

The Polytechnic School

  • Nancy Cooke, Chair, National Academies of Science Committee on the Science of Team Science
  • Shawn Jordan, National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Award (CAREER Award)
  • Thomas Schildgen, Fred Hartman Award: National Award of Recognition presented by the International Graphic Arts Education Association, University of Wisconsin – Stout (July 2013)