Faculty Awards and Honors

School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering

  • David Frakes, 2013 ASU Faculty Excellence Award-Defining Edge Research and Creative Work
  • Leland Hartwell, Fellow, American Association for Cancer Research
  • Karmella Haynes, elected councilor for the Institute of Biological Engineering
  • Jeff La Belle, Top 5% Teaching Award

School of Computing and Augmented Intelligence

  • Ronald Askin, editor-in-chief, IIE Transactions, the flagship journal of the Institute of Industrial Engineers
  • K. Selcuk Candan, Distinguished Scientist, Association of Computing Machinery, Fulton Engineering 2013 Teaching Excellence Award
  • James Collofello, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Sandeep Gupta, Co-authored Best Poster Award at the 19th International Conference on High Performance Computing.
  • Huan Liu, Yahoo! Faculty Research and Engagement Program
  • Dan Shunk, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Kurt VanLehn, Diane and Gary Tooker Chair for Effective Education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math
  • Kelly Wilkerson, Top 5% Teaching Award

School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

  • David Allee, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Yu Cao, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Chaitali Chakrabarti, Best Paper Award, 2013 International Symposium on High-Performance Computer Architecture
  • Michael Goryll, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Kory Hedman, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Joseph Hui, Arizona Manufacturers Council Excellence in Innovation award
  • Lina Karam, IEEE Fellow
  • Cun-Zheng Ning, IEEE Fellow; Optical Society of America Fellow
  • Antonia Papandreou-Suppappola, IEEE Fellow
  • Armando Rodriguez, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Marco Saraniti, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Dieter Schroder, Daniel Jankowski Legacy Award, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Vijay Vittal, 2013 IEEE Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award
  • Yong-Hang Zhang, Optical Society of America Fellow

School for Engineering of Matter Transport and Energy

  • Ron Adrian, Regents Professor
  • Panagiotis Artemiadis, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Nik Chawla, Brimacombe Medalist, The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society
  • Marcus Herrmann, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Mary Laura Lind, NSF CAREER Award
  • Jerry Lin, Fellow, American Institute of Chemical Engineers; Georgia T. Piercy Distinguished Visiting Professorship from University of Minnesota
  • James Middleton, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Veronica Santos, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • B.L. Ramakrishna, Jefferson Science Fellow
  • Jami Shah, Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • Kiran Solanki, Young Leader Professional Development Award, TMS-The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society; Air Force Young Investigator Research Program Award
  • César Torres, Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) 2012 Young Investigator Award
  • Liping Wang, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Robert Wang, Air Force Young Investigator Research Program Award

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

  • Samuel Ariaratnam, William W. Badger Endowment Award
  • Peter Fox, AZ Water Association Nathan Burbank Environmental Educator of the Year
  • G. Edward Gibson, Jr., appointed to the Board on Infrastructure and the Constructed Environment
  • Kamil Kaloush, Outstanding Educator Award, Greater Phoenix Engineers Week; Rubber Pavements Association Outstanding Research Award
  • Dean Kashiwagi, Top 5% Teaching Award
  • Edward Kavazanjian, National Academy of Engineering
  • Amy Landis, Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors Award for Outstanding Teaching in Environmental Engineering and Science
  • Bruce Rittmann, Water Environment Federation Fellow
  • Clifford Schexnayder, elected member of the National Academy of Construction; Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society of Civil Engineers
  • Paul Westerhoff, Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors Frontier in Research Award
  • Avi Wiezel, Top 5% Teaching Award

The Polytechnic School

  • Al Brown, Arizona Public Health Association (AzPHA), 2013 Harold B. Woodward Award (lifetime achievement award)
  • Mark R. Edwards,  2013 Pinnacle Gold Medal for Best Science Book, Peace Microfarms