Fulton Schools Leadership History

Engineering Deans

  1. Lee P. Thompson (Founding Dean, 1955–1978)
  2. C. Roland Haden (Founder of Engineering Excellence, 1978–1987; 1989–1991)
  3. George Beakley (Interim, 1988–1989)
  4. Chuck Backus (Interim, 1991–1992)
  5. Morris Chang (1992–1994)
  6. Dan Jankowksi (Interim, 1994–1995)
  7. Peter Crouch (1995–2005)
  8. Paul Johnson (Interim, 2005–2006)
  9. Deirdre Meldrum, Dean
    Paul Johnson, Executive Dean (2006–2011)
  10. Paul Johnson (2011–2015)
  11. Kyle Squires (2016-)

School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering

Eric J. Guilbeau, chair, 2000-2006
Metin Akay, chair, 2006-2008
William Ditto, chair, 2008-2009, director, 2009-2011
Marco Santello, interim director, 2011-2012
Marco Santello, director, 2012-2022
Heather Clark, director, 2022-

School of Computing and Augmented Intelligence

(Formerly the School of Computing, Informatics and Decision Systems Engineering)

William E. Lewis, chair, 1980-1984
Ben M. Huey, acting chair, 1985-1986
Robert Barnhill, chair, 1986-1991
Ben M. Huey, chair, 1991-1994
Sik-Sang Yau, chair, 1994-2001
Charles Colbourn, chair, 2001-2002
Sethuraman Panchanathan, director, 2002-2009
Ronald Askin, director, 2009–2016
Sandeep Gupta, interim director, 2016–2017
Sandeep Gupta, director 2017-2022
K. Selcuk Candan, interim co-director, 2022
Teresa Wu, interim co-director, 2022
Ross Maciejewski, director, 2022-

School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

Russell L. Riese, chair, 1959-1963
Truet B. Thompson, chair, 1963-1967
Thomas Tice, chair, 1967-1979
Richard Kelly, chair, 1979-1983
Richard Saeks, chair, 1983-1988
Peter Crouch, chair, 1988-1989
David Ferry, chair, 1989-1992
Peter Crouch, chair, 1992-1995
Richard Kelly, chair, 1995-1996
Stephen Goodnick, chair, 1996-2005
Stephen Phillips, chair, 2005-2009, director, 2009-

School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy

Kyle Squires, director, 2009–2015
Lenore Dai, interim director, 2015
Lenore Dai, director, 2015–

School of Manufacturing Systems and Networks

Binil Starly, director, 2022-

School of Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Paul Westerhoff, director, 2009-2010
G. Edward (Edd) Gibson, Jr., interim director, 2010-2011
G. Edward (Edd) Gibson, Jr., director, 2011-2018
Ram Pendyala, interim director, 2018-2019
Ram Pendyala, director, 2020-

The Polytechnic School

Keith Hjelmstad, dean, College of Technology and Innovation, 2008-2011
Mitzi Montoya, dean, College of Technology and Innovation, 2011-2014
Ann McKenna, director, 2014-2019
Leila Ladani, director, 2019-2020
Ann McKenna, interim director, 2021-


  • The College of Applied Arts and Sciences was established in 1955. In 1956, the first bachelor’s degree program in engineering was approved. The School of Engineering was created in 1958.
  • In 2009, as part of a broad transformation of the engineering schools, 10 traditional departments were reorganized into five transdiciplinary schools.
  • The Polytechnic School was the College of Technology and Innovation from 1996-2014 before being renamed The Polytechnic School and becoming the sixth school in the Fulton Schools of Engineering in 2014.
  • The School of Computing, Informatics and Decision Systems Engineering was renamed the School of Computing and Augmented Intelligence in the fall of 2021.
  • A new Fulton school, the School of Manufacturing Systems and Networks, was established in the fall of 2021.

More Fulton Schools history