NSF fellowship will boost engineering student’s materials research

Doctoral student Tyler Stannard is working on research to better comprehend the dynamics of materials stress, corrosion and fatigue, and to develop new metal alloys.

Now his intense interest in the field, backed by good performances in studies and research after transferring to Arizona State University, has earned him a National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship.

The fellowship award will provide $32,000 per year for up to three years for Stannard to complete the materials science and engineering doctoral program in the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy.

Read more in Full Circle

Arizona State University mechanical engineering doctoral student Andrey Gunawan. Photo courtesy of Rafeed Chaudhury.

Renewable energy research project earns graduate fellowship award

No more than five graduate students worldwide are selected each year to receive support for their research through the prestigious Summer Fellowship program of The Electrochemical Society (ECS), an international educational organization.

One of this year’s recipients is Andrey Gunawan, who is pursuing his doctoral degree in mechanical engineering at Arizona State University.

The fellowship award is providing $5,000 to aid Gunawan’s work to make advances in renewable and alternative energy technologies.

Read more in Full Circle

Brett Larsen in Flexible Display Center laboratories

Larsen awarded Goldwater Scholarship

Brett Larsen,  a senior in the School of Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, one of the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering at Arizona State University, recently was awarded a Goldwater Scholarship, the nation’s premier award for undergraduates studying science, math and engineering. The scholarship provides $7,500 a year for up to two years.

A student in ASU’s Barrett, The Honors College, Larsen started researching in ASU’s Flexible Display Center as a freshman, developing ultra low-power circuits and applying advanced signal processing techniques to personnel detection around secure areas. Since that time, his research has also expanded to other areas of applied mathematics, such as identifying proteins passing through silicon nanopores and analyzing measurements taken with an electric field sensor.

Read more in Full Circle


ASU engineering students earn first place finish in Intel Cup competition in China

A team of students from the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering took first place in the 2014 Embedded System Design Invitational Contest, a part of the Intel Cup Undergraduate Electronic Design Contest held July 15-20 in Shanghai.

Held every two years, the Intel Cup competition is part of Intel’s commitment to education, and is designed to showcase the use of embedded systems using the latest Intel processors.

This year, two teams are working together. They are creating a robot that students can use to learn programming skills. The software team is creating a user interface and a simulator, which will allow novice students to program a robot without knowing how to write computer code. Members of that team are David Humphries,Garth Bjerk, Ian Plumley, Nathanael Stout and Tracey Heath, all computer science majors in the School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Systems Engineering.

The hardware team is using the Intel processor to build a robot and write embedded code in the robot. Members of that team are Corey Jallen, Matthew Recchia, Randy Queen, Rizwan Ahmad and Stephen Pluta, all computer systems engineering majors in the School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Systems Engineering.

The competition team is coached by Yann-Hang Lee, a professor in the School of Computing, Informatics, and Decision Systems Engineering.

Learn more about the team

Work on contaminant removal methods earns research paper awards

Research papers detailing proposed new methods for the removal of environmental pollutants and contaminants earned awards for Arizona State University postdoctoral research associate Aura Ontiveros-Valencia and environmental engineering doctoral student Devyn Fajardo-Williams at a recent international environmental science and engineering conference.

The Remediation of Chlorinated and Recalcitrant Compounds conference in Monterey, Calif., explored advances in technologies and methods that offer potential solutions for cleaning up areas that have sustained environmental damage due to chemical contamination.

Read more about this achievement

Chemical engineering student chosen for prestigious research fellowship

Miranda Ngan, a junior in chemical engineering at Arizona State University, has been selected for a prestigious Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) in Boulder, Colo.

Ngan is a student at the School for Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy, one of ASU’s Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering.

Ngan, a native of Arizona who graduated from Chandler High School, enjoyed math and science, specifically chemistry.

“I love that these two subjects are so integrative,” she said.

She chose to attend ASU because of its strong engineering program and she knew that being in Barrett, The Honors College, would give her a competitive advantage in terms of research and other opportunities.

Read more in Full Circle

Impressive Results from Daedalus Astronautics

In 2013-2014, the students of Daedalus Astronautics at ASU have completed many impressive tasks that have followed their mission of providing unique educational opportunities to their students and increasing their technical skills.  Over the course of the year, the students have completed over 25 test fires, launched five rockets (with at least four more planned), presented four papers at the AIAA Region VI Student Conference AND won a first and second place at that same conference; and have a manuscript submitted to the AIAA Conference in June 2014.

The students of Daedalus Astronautics have built on partnerships with both Aerojet-Rocketdyne and ASU West campus to further educational opportunities for its members in the future.  In addition to this technical work, the students completed STEM-based outreach to an estimated 3,000+ people.